Monday, March 18, 2013


In the future, America is divided into two generations.  When the spore wars came, children and the elderly were the first to get vaccinated, and now everyone in the middle is dead.  The Enders control everything:  money, power, jobs.  Because of genetic advances, it is now common for people to live for two hundred years.

The children, Starters, are left to fend for themselves if they didn't have an older relative to "claim" them when all the parents died.  It is illegal for the them to work, so they are homeless scavengers.

Callie and her former neighbor, Michael, now spend their lives hiding from the marshals and trying to protect and feed Callie's little brother Tyler who is constantly sick and malnourished.

Callie feels her only option is Prime Destinations.  It's illegal, but it pays enough money to set Callie, Tyler, and maybe Michael up for life.  What is Prime?  Wealthy Enders pay to rent teen bodies.  There are contracts and penalties, but you can never be certain what someone does with your body when you're asleep.

Everything is going well with Callie's time at Prime until she wakes up in the middle of a rental.  This isn't supposed to happen.  Should she return to Prime?  What if they refuse to pay?  Callie doesn't know what to do until a voice in her head warns her not to return to Prime.  This is the beginning of a strange partnership to uncover a dangerous plot.  What's really going on at Prime, and is there any way Callie can escape?

This is the first in a new science fiction series by Lissa Price.  If you like the first book and can't wait for the second, there are two short stories available as ebooks on Amazon.  I really liked the concept of this book, but I'm not so sure about the execution.  The characterization and motivation were sketchy in places.  I would recommend this for fans of Legend and The Hunger Games.

No comments:

Post a Comment